Budgets

Standard

We recently attended our states Families for Home Educating conference. We listened to a great speaker Mike Smith that is part of the HSLDA (Homeschool legal defense association) and he gave a great talk to fathers (that I had the pleasure of sitting in on) and the roles they play. It was a common theme among speakers to talk about that Husbands/Fathers are the head of the household… it says so in the bible… look it up! One thing that struck a chord with me was Mike asked the question, “How many of you have a budge?” there were many hands in the room raised including ours. He stated that all Christian families should have a budget, his regretfully was to make more than what was going out but he admitted that wasn’t good enough!

With all of these hands raised it made me ponder the question, what does these families budget look like… and I don’t mean how much money to they make, or what are their bills or debt to income ratio. I mean physically what does it look like and what systems do they use. I know it’s always been hard for us when I’ve set a budget in place and my husband is using the debit card, I’m using the debit card and neither of us are aware that they other has used it (eeek!).

Another thing I wondered is how many of these husbands really were involved in the finances or managed them themselves! My husband is the sole provider in our home and I make the budget sit and go over it with him and we discuss that month and our goals.We’ve tried cash systems in the past, and let me tell you IT REALLY WORKS! I mean REALLY WORKS! We always seem to have more money left at the end of the week than if we just used our debit cards alone. We are going back to this system, and I plan on to post on our progress.

One thing to remember is when the cash envelope is empty… it’s gone! Keep that in mind when you look into these links 🙂 Please post and perhaps help us with some ideas or thoughts on the subject.

I wanted to share with you:

What is a  cash system? Let Dave Ramsey explain… please look here: http://www.daveramsey.com/article/dave-ramseys-envelope-system/lifeandmoney_budgeting/

Cute Cash Envelop Systems for purchase… check out etsy: www.etsy.com

About imthehomemakingmomma

I want to help mom's like me who love to be at home! Who homeschool or want to be inspired by a homeschooling mom, who craft, who play with their kids, who cooks or wants to be inspired by anything! Society doesn't let us be okay with being "homemakers", they make the label look so bad. I'm here to say that Home Making Momma's are beautiful, intelligent, witty, and hold all those titles of Accountant, Nurse, Teacher, Chef, Business Owner, and the list goes on... without fancy degrees (if you have one, that's awesome too, don't get me wrong)!!! But that we love our jobs!!!! Why would we want to do anything else but care for our children and spouse!!!

Leave a Reply

